跳至主要内容

使用Spartan的物联网认证:安全的关键

由Pim Tuyls
–固有ID首席执行官

 

在上个月的半年度安全峰会上,我们有幸拥有一批才华横溢的演讲者,有趣的是观察每个人如何为安全主题带来不同的视角。 Landis+Gyr 的 Randy Turner 描述了智能电网的安全需求与传统安全问题的不同之处。 Mark Schaeffer 瑞萨电子的总裁评论说,我们真正拥有的是不安全的物联网,引用了工业和医疗破坏、去年的大规模 DDOS 攻击,当然还有 WannaCry。 亚马逊的 Anton Shmagin 谈到了物联网安全的新前沿和细粒度身份验证的概念。 最后,GlobalSign 的 Lancen LaChance 在他关于需要 强力装置 身份作为安全物联网的核心。

但在这些不同的观点中,我观察到了所有四位演讲者的共同点:身份验证的重要性和必要性。 这恰好与我们在 Spartan(Intrinsic ID 的数字身份验证平台)当天宣布的一致。 Spartan 可用于验证几乎所有物联网端点,并启用防伪和防克隆。 Intrinsic ID 的这款最新产品实际上是一个身份验证套件,这是一系列针对特定用例量身定制的软件模块,几乎可以在任何微控制器上运行。 与所有 Intrinsic ID 产品一样,Spartan 基于我们的专利 SRAM PUF技术,它通过赋予微控制器和其他半导体独特的身份,为安全子系统奠定了基础。

基于的唯一身份 SRAM PUF – 让我扩展这两个关键点,因为它们解释了 Spartan 是如何形成的。

首先,独特身份的概念 - 这是安全的基础。 不仅是身份,还有登记的身份。 在这方面,安全的物联网端点与人们几乎没有什么不同 - 当我们出生时,我们会得到一份出生证明,而在以后的生活中,我们会收到其他标识,例如驾照和护照。 今天我们甚至可以根据我们的生物识别和数字设备进行识别。 如果没有适当的保证,我们不能确定我们正在与谁交谈 - 或者捐钱,接受产品,从产房等带回家 - 是他们应该成为的人。 借助IoT端点,我们需要类似的断言。 所以我们需要可靠和独特的设备标识。

第二个关键点是常用的 SRAM PUF。 斯巴达人利用的事实 SRAM PUF 与我们早期的产品一样,这一点很重要,它反映了我们公司所采取的刻意进步的过程:

  • 我们从BroadKey和QuiddiKey开始 - 用于密钥创建,密钥包装和密钥管理的产品。 这些为独特的设备身份创建了基础,因此也是我们所有其他产品和几乎所有安全原语的平台。
  • 今年早些时候,我们发布了Citadel用于密钥配置。
  • 对于这些,我们添加Spartan进行身份验证 - 实体身份验证和数据身份验证。

所以我们遵循了一个合乎逻辑的进程,建立在晶体管级别的关键创建和关键配置的基础上,并与美国国土安全部 确保物联网的战略原则(IoT),版本1.0,在2016上宣布。

与密钥创建和密钥配置相比,身份验证是一个更高层次的问题 - 这是高附加值的问题。 过去,固有ID在某些使用情况下为我们的客户启用了身份验证,但不是按照SPARTAN今天提供的顺序。

您可以在此处阅读有关 Spartan-Cloud,Spartan 家族的第一个成员的更多信息。 在接下来的几个月里,随着我们继续扩大我们的身份验证足迹,您将听到更多关于 Spartan 的信息。

___________________

Pim Tuyls 是 Intrinsic ID 的首席执行官。 在 2008 年创立 Intrinsic ID 之前,他曾在 Philips Research 担任首席科学家并管理密码学集群。 在那里,他发起了关于物理不可克隆函数的工作(的PUF),它构成了 Intrinsic ID 的硅指纹识别技术的基础。 Tuyls 拥有博士学位。 在鲁汶大学获得数学物理学博士学位,拥有 50 多项专利,并因其在嵌入式应用安全领域的工作而广受认可。

 

你对认证有什么想法或需要设备身份吗? 请在下面的评论部分告诉我们。

这篇文章有0评论

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

回到顶部

IoT Authentication with SPARTAN: The Linchpin of Security

By Pim Tuyls
– Chief Executive Officer, Intrinsic ID

 

At our semi-annual security summit last month we were fortunate to have a talented slate of speakers, and it was interesting to observe how each brought a somewhat different perspective to the topic of security. Randy Turner of Landis+Gyr described how the security needs of the smart grid differ from traditional security concerns. Mark Schaeffer of Renesas commented on the notion that what we really have is the Internet of Insecure Things, citing industrial and medical sabotage, last year’s massive DDOS attack, and of course WannaCry. Anton Shmagin of Amazon spoke to new frontiers in IoT security and the concept of fine-grained authentication. Finally, GlobalSign’s Lancen LaChance incorporated a number of elements in his discussion of the need for strong device identity as the core for a secure IoT.

But among these different perspectives I observed an element common to all four presenters: the significance of and need for authentication. This happened to align with our announcement that day of SPARTAN, Intrinsic ID’s platform for digital authentication. SPARTAN can be applied to authenticating almost all IoT endpoints, and to enabling anti-counterfeiting and anti-cloning. This latest product from Intrinsic ID is actually an authentication suite, a family of software modules tailored to specific use cases that can run on virtually any microcontroller. As with all Intrinsic ID products, SPARTAN is based on our patented SRAM PUF technology, which creates a foundation for a security subsystem by giving microcontrollers and other semiconductors unique identities.

Unique identities which are based on SRAM PUF – let me expand on those two key points, because they explain how SPARTAN came to be.

First, the concept of unique identities – it’s fundamental to security. Not just identities, but registered identities. In that regard secure IoT endpoints are little different from people – when we are born we get a birth certificate, and later in life we receive other identifiers such as a driver’s license and a passport. Today we can even be recognized based on our biometrics and digital devices. Without appropriate assurances we cannot be certain that the person we’re speaking to – or giving money to, accepting goods from, taking home from the maternity ward, etc. – is who they are supposed to be. With IoT endpoints we require similar assertions. And so we require reliable and unique device identities.

A second key point is the common use of SRAM PUF. The fact SPARTAN utilizes SRAM PUF in the same way as our earlier products is an important point, and one that reflects the deliberately progressive course our company has taken:

  • We began with BROADKEY and QUIDDIKEY – products for key creation, key wrapping and key management. These create the basis for unique device identities, and hence the platform for all our other products and almost all security primitives.
  • Earlier this year we released CITADEL for key provisioning.
  • To these we add SPARTAN for authentication – both entity authentication and data authentication.

So we have followed a logical progression, building on key creation and key provisioning rooted in the transistor level, and working in alignment with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Strategic Principles for Securing the Internet of Things (IoT), Version 1.0, announced in 2016.

Authentication is a higher level problem than key creation and key provisioning – and it’s a problem with high dollars attached to it. Intrinsic ID has in the past enabled authentication for our customers in certain use cases but not on the order of what SPARTAN offers today.

You can read more here about SPARTAN CLOUD, the first member of the SPARTAN family. And in the coming months you will hear more about SPARTAN as we continue to expand our authentication footprint.

___________________

Pim Tuyls is CEO of Intrinsic ID. Before founding Intrinsic ID in 2008 he was at Philips Research, where he was Principal Scientist and managed the cryptography cluster. While there he initiated the work on Physical Unclonable Functions (PUFs), which forms the basis of Intrinsic ID’s silicon fingerprinting technology. Tuyls has a Ph.D. in mathematical physics from Leuven University, holds more than 50 patents and is widely acknowledged for his work in the field of security for embedded applications.

 

Do you have thoughts on authentication or the need for device identities? Let us know in the Comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *